© Marco Borggreve


Andris Nelsons back on tour with the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Today marks the first concert of Andris Nelsons' European tour with the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. Consisting of a full programme of Peter I. Tchaikovsky's music, the Gewandhausorchester under its Gewandhauskapellmeister are joined by soloist Leonidas Kavakos who will perform Tchaikovsky's iconic violin concerto. Other works include Symphonies Nos. 5 and 6, as well as the lesser-known pieces "Voyevoda", a 1891 symphonic poem, and the "Hamlet Overture".

Opening the tour at the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg tonight, 26 February, Nelsons and his orchestra will then travel through Europe for the next two weeks with concerts in Luxembourg, Paris, Amsterdam, Essen, and Vienna.

All dates:
26.02 + 27.02: Hamburg, Elbphilharmonie
28.02 + 29.02: Luxembourg, Philharmonie
02.03 + 03.03: Paris, Philharmonie de Paris
05.03 + 06.03: Amsterdam, Concertgebouw
07.03               : Essen, Philharmonie
09.03 + 10.03: Vienna, Musikverein

More information can be found here