Jazzrausch Bigband

All Seasons

about the special project.

The Jazzrausch Bigband is the world’s first resident big band of a world-renowned techno club. Founded 2014 in Munich, this big band has been quietly revolutionizing the German club scene with endlessly inventive performances. Their schedule includes more than 100 annual concerts and has already taken them to the Lincoln Center NYC, the JZ Festival in Shanghai, the Munich Philharmonic Hall and the Festival Da Jazz in St. Moritz. At their live big band techno shows, it comes to a musical meltdown, where the creativity and sound diversity of a jazz big band meets the impressive clarity of a techno club – always surprising, always danceable! Composer and arranger of the music is Leonhard Kuhn. Bandleader and manager of the Jazzrausch Bigband is Roman Sladek. With German fans already won over, the band has now begun to attract an international audience.


„They validated their reputation as one of the world’s most distinctive and adrenalizing dance outfits. What was shocking, and gloriously refreshing right from the first hammerhead beats of the kickdrum, was that this band swings. Which completely sets them apart from the machines and the would-be cyborgs who man them. If this is the future of EDM, it’s this band’s ODM that’s going to replace it – that’s a big O for Organic.“ – The New York Music Daily about US debut of the Jazzrausch Bigband at the Lincoln Center in NYC.


Dancing Wittgenstein

Beethoven’s Breakdown

STILL! STILL! STILL!

Bruckner’s Breakdown

Seelenrausch

Dates.

17.01.2020

Forum am Schlosspark

Ludwigsburg

> more about the promoter

01.02.2020

Kulturzentrum Alter Schlachthof

Eupen

> more about the promoter

25.03.2020

Philharmonie Berlin

Berlin

Your contact persons:

Daniel Witzke

Manager Creative Development

+49 511 36607-66

daniel.witzke@kdschmid.de

Publicity material:

Baiba Birzgalis

+49 511 36607-51

baiba.birzgalis@kdschmid.de

Biography – about the special project.

“A meltdown of bigband sound with house and techno music.” (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

With an average of 120 concerts a year, playing throughout Europe and visiting the US, Asia and Africa, the Jazzrausch Bigband is one of the busiest European big bands. With “power, groove and enormous stage presence” (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung), the band equally reaches audiences from jazz and electronic music. 


The driving forces behind the Jazzrausch Bigband project are the Munich-based trombonist and music manager Roman Sladek and the guitarist and composer Leonhard Kuhn, also living in Munich. The nucleus and starting point of the musical journey is a Munich institution: the “Harry Klein”, one of the most renowned electro clubs in Europe. In 2015, just one year after its founding, Jazzrausch Bigband became artist in residence at the club - and the young Munich audience went nuts. A big band in a Techno Club! Totally unique not only for Munich, but the world! Soon, the venues got bigger, selling out locations like the Munich Muffathalle, as well as classical music institutions such as the Gasteig in Munich. The band is also performing at major festivals all over Germany. Tours soon took them to the Lincoln Center in New York, the JZ Festival in Shanghai, the Safaricom International Jazz Festival in Nairobi, the Ural Music Night in Yekaterinburg and the SXSW Music Festival in Austin among others.

No exaggeration to call the Jazzrausch Bigband a phenomenon. One that shows in a very special way, what has been simmering and bubbling for a long time in the jazz genre. Everybody, the musicians as well as the audience, are enjoying to tear down musical boundaries of all kinds. Having said that, the music of Jazzrausch Bigband seeks to fulfil various expectations: The longing of the audience for more genuine, handmade, fresh, original music. And those being into jazz and classical music to find more groove, big sound and great fun.

Season 2019/2020

Listen, See & feel the music.

You need high-resolution images and biographies? Please use this short form. We will send you a download link soon.

Send

Video

Need more material? Feel free to ask:

Publicity material:

Baiba Birzgalis

+49 511 36607-51

baiba.birzgalis@kdschmid.de

Jazzrausch Bigband

Alle Saisons

Über das Special Project.

Die Jazzrausch Bigband ist die erste Big Band die in einem der bekanntesten Techno Clubs der Welt eine Residenz inne hat. 2014 in München gegründet, hat diese Big Band still und heimlich die deutsche Klubszene mit unendlich innovativen Auftritten revolutioniert. Ihr Kalender weist mehr als 100 Konzerte im Jahr aus, die sie unter anderen an den Lincoln Center New York, zum JZ Festival in Shanghai, in den Gasteig und zum Festival Da Jazz in St. Moritz gebracht. Bei ihren live Big Band Techno Auftritten kommt es zur musikalischen Kernschmelze, wo Kreativität und Klangbreite einer Jazz Big Band auf die eindrucksvolle Klarheit eines Techno Klubs trifft - immer überraschend, immer tanzbar! Komponist und Arrangeur der Musik ist Leonhard Kuhn. Bandleader und Manager der Jazzrausch Bigband ist Roman Sladek. Deutsche Fans hat die Band bereits für sich gewonnen, nun zieht sie auch internationales Publikum in ihren Bann.


„Dass die Jazzrausch Bigband auch Skeptiker und Puristen überzeugen kann, liegt an gewitzten Arrangementdetails und an der Qualität der in Schnitt 29 Jahren alten Musikerinnen und Musiker. Ihre offenkundige Spielfreude gipfelt live immer wieder in facettenreichen Expressionen, die eruptiv sein können, aber nie exzessiv ausufern.“ - Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung


Dancing Wittgenstein

Beethoven’s Breakdown

STILL! STILL! STILL!

Bruckner’s Breakdown

Seelenrausch

 

Ihre Ansprechpartner:

Daniel Witzke

Freier Mitarbeiter

+49 1516 8859676

daniel.witzke@kdschmid.de

Publicity material:

Baiba Birzgalis

+49 511 36607-51

baiba.birzgalis@kdschmid.de

Biographie – Über das Special Project.

 "Eine Kernschmelze von Bigband-Sound mit House und Techno-Musik.“ (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

Mit im Schnitt 120 Konzerten im Jahr ist die Jazzrausch Bigband eine der meist beschäftigten Big Bands Europas, auf ihren Konzerten in Europa, Amerika, Asien und Afrika bringt sie mit „Klanggewalt, Groove und enormer Bühnenpräsenz“ (FAZ) Jazzfans und Tanzwütige zusammen, wie wohl aktuell kein vergleichbares Ensemble. Groove mit Köpfchen, Elektro mit Gebläse, Jazz im Rausch. 


Die treibenden Köpfe hinter dem Projekt sind der Münchner Posaunist und Musikmanager Roman Sladek und der ebenfalls in München lebende Gitarrist und Komponist Leonhard Kuhn. Keimzelle und Ausgangspunkt der musikalischen Reise sind eine Münchner Institution: das „Harry Klein“, einer der renommiertesten Elektro Clubs Europas. Im Jahr 2015, nur ein Jahr nach ihrer Gründung, wird die Jazzrausch Bigband Artist in Residence im „Harry“ und das junge Münchner Publikum flippt aus. Eine Big Band im Techno Club. Wirklich einmalig. Für München und die Welt. Schnell werden die Bühnen größer, die Band füllt sowohl Rock-Venues wie die Muffathalle, als auch Hochkultur-Tempel wie die Münchner Philharmonie und gastiert auf namhaften Festivals in ganz Deutschland. Die Kreise, die die Band zieht, werden weiter: Konzertreisen führen sie unter anderem ins Lincoln Center nach New York, zum JZ Festival nach Shanghai, zum Safaricom International Jazzfestival nach Nairobi, der Ural Music Night in Yekaterinburg und zum SXSW Music Festival nach Austin.

So ist es nicht übertrieben, die Band ein Phänomen zu nennen. Eines, das auf ganz eigene Art zeigt, was lange es schon brodelt und arbeitet in dieser Musik, die sich „Jazz“ nennt: Sie ist heute mehr denn je die Schublade für das, was sonst in keine Schublade passt. Und alle, die Musiker wie das Publikum, haben Spaß am lustvollen Einreißen von Grenzen. Die Musik der Jazzrausch Bigband, so scheint es, erfüllt in diesem Zusammenhang vielerlei Sehnsüchte: die der Clubgänger nach mehr Echtem, Handgemachtem, Frischem, Originellem. Und die der Jazz- und Klassik-Hörer nach mehr Wumms, Entertainment, nach großem Sound und fettem Groove.

Saison 2019/2020

Hören, sehen und fühlen Sie die Musik.

Sie benötigen hochauflösende Bilder und Biographien? Bitte benutzen Sie dieses Formular. Wir senden Ihnen in Kürze einen Download-Link.

Senden

Video

Sie benötigen weiteres Material? Fragen Sie gerne:

Publicity material:

Baiba Birzgalis

+49 511 36607-51

baiba.birzgalis@kdschmid.de